Ruling Range - January 2017
While enjoying yet another perfect round at an amazing course in sunny Scottsdale, Arizona, you yank your drive left and the balls comes to rest a foot away from a gigantic cactus. After a quick glance, it looks like you can take a stance and hit the ball on the green, but you're worried that you'll do so at the expense of cactus spines doing a number on your legs. As you deliberate the shot, your golf buddy says: "Why don't you just throw your golf towel over that portion of the cactus, and get up there and knock it on the green?"
Is that move legal?