Ruling Range - July 2017
July 31, 2017
Standing in the middle of the 18th fairway, your dreams of breaking 80 for the first time are just 141 yards away. Hit a nine iron into the middle of the green, two putt and you're Mr. 79 moving forward. You pull 'er back and flush it. But unfortunately, it's too perfect, and the ball sails over the green and lands in extremely deep heather grass. Somewhat remarkably, you find your ball buried, and you know right away that you can't get a club on it. As you ponder picking it up and dropping it within two club lengths of your unplayable lie, your supportive golf buddy says, "Don't drop it in the deep grass. Bring it on the other side of the cart path and try to get it up and down from the putting green." Puzzled, you say, "Can I really do that?!"
Ruling Range - May 2017
May 9, 2017
On the heels of ten great drives in a row, you ask a little too much from the driver and yank one left into the woods. After hearing the ball crack a few tree limbs, you presume it lost, declare a provisional and hit a perfect drive down the middle of the fairway. Walking up the fairway dejected, you take your obligatory five minutes to search for your first drive and come up with nada. You then locate your 2nd drive in the fairway, hit a nice approach and begin walking towards the green. Ten steps into your walk towards the green, you notice a ball is sitting in the second cut a few steps from the woods. You know right away that it’s your first drive. Your golf buddy sees the same thing. “Hey,” he says excitedly, “that’s your first drive buddy… Go ahead and play it!”
Is your friend’s suggestion correct? Can you play your first drive without incurring a penalty?