phone

24/7 CLIENT SUPPORT: 1.888.99.LINKS

TEE TIMES:  1.855.383.3633

ezlinks sub banner

Ezlinks Blog

Ruling Range - January 2017

January 1, 2017
 
The Dilemma

While enjoying yet another perfect round at an amazing course in sunny Scottsdale, Arizona, you yank your drive left and the balls comes to rest a foot away from a gigantic cactus. After a quick glance, it looks like you can take a stance and hit the ball on the green, but you're worried that you'll do so at the expense of cactus spines doing a number on your legs. As you deliberate the shot, your golf buddy says: "Why don't you just throw your golf towel over that portion of the cactus, and get up there and knock it on the green?"

Is that move legal?

The Ruling

No, unfortunately the rules of the golf preclude a player from putting a towel on a cactus or anywhere else that would deem the stance taken to be unfair. However, if you were to wrap the towel around your leg prior to addressing the ball, you would be protected from the cactus and a two-shot penalty by Decision 1-2/10.

It's a bit of an unknown rule, but it's definitely one to remember if you're looking to save some strokes... and your legs! 

 
Close