Ruling Range - April 2017
April 12, 2017
After a wayward drive, you find your ball nestled up against a tree with only one option to advance it forward - swing hard, try not to destroy your club and hope for the best. 7-iron in hand, you take a big hack, slam the shaft of the club into the truck of the tree and hit a miraculous punch-out that lands just short of the green. After high-fiving your buddies, you look down and notice that your 7-iron is bent because of the impact of hitting the tree. The self-appointed golf rules aficionado in your group sees the same thing and says: "Great shot, but now you can't use that club the rest of the round."
Is he correct?
Ruling Range - May 2017
May 9, 2017
On the heels of ten great drives in a row, you ask a little too much from the driver and yank one left into the woods. After hearing the ball crack a few tree limbs, you presume it lost, declare a provisional and hit a perfect drive down the middle of the fairway. Walking up the fairway dejected, you take your obligatory five minutes to search for your first drive and come up with nada. You then locate your 2nd drive in the fairway, hit a nice approach and begin walking towards the green. Ten steps into your walk towards the green, you notice a ball is sitting in the second cut a few steps from the woods. You know right away that it’s your first drive. Your golf buddy sees the same thing. “Hey,” he says excitedly, “that’s your first drive buddy… Go ahead and play it!”
Is your friend’s suggestion correct? Can you play your first drive without incurring a penalty?
Ruling Range - November 2017
November 24, 2017
What happens when two wild turkeys decide to take your perfectly laid ball in the middle of the fairway back to the woods with them? Will you need to take a penalty, or can you place the ball where it landed without an extra stroke?
Ruling Range - December 2017
December 31, 2017
Right as you are teeing off Mother Nature blows your ball off the tee causing you to perform a "swing and a miss". Your buddies howl with laughter and state that counts as a stroke, but does it?